Baidhya faction tweaks volunteer body for revolt

KATHMANDU: Hardline faction of the Unified CPN Maoist today reconstituted the People’s Volunteers Bureau headed by standing committee member Netra Bikram Chand including the commanders and members of Young Communist League.

A 17-member committee has been formed at the Kupondol-based unofficial central office
of the radical faction was attended by hundreds of former PLA commanders and YCL members.

The committee includes three Division Vice-commanders Dipak-Uday Chalaune, Bibek and Madan, injured PLA commander Parbat and one each representatives from 13 state committees of the party.

Also the in-charge of the newly formed PVB Chand urged everyone to stand against the decision of so-called ‘heroes of the revolution’ as they forced PLA to surrender.

This is a part of the campaign of the hardliners of the party led by senior Vice-chairman Mohan Baidhya that has been forming parallel organisations within the party.

The People’s Volunteers formed under the leadership of Chand himself by the party had remained defunct since the YCL members especially its Newa State Committee in-charge Chandra Bahadur Thapa ‘Sagar’ had criticised the move.

The People’s Volunteers Bureau was formed for the replacement of YCL to woo the parties that have been demanding to end its paramilitary structure.

Former leader of YCL Uma Bhujel said the meeting was held in the presence of senior Vice-chairman Baidhya, general secretary Ram Bahadur Thapa ‘Badal’ and secretary C P Gajurel. Baidhya also attended a series of meetings of different parties held at the Constituent Assembly hall along with another hardliner leader Dev Gurung.

Bhujel said the main task of the PVB was to make necessary preparations for the people’s revolt, which is the party’s official line besides providing security to the people and lending helping hands to the needy.

The volunteers will also help the radical group to float their opinions to the public and create awareness among the people about the anti-national activities of the party leaders, Bhujel said. The PVB has six departments and six commands.


This entry was posted in resistance, war and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.